Beautiful elevated subway (but bad physics?) Wednesday W33Y3

A cool spring or fall evening in New York City in the 1920s, with a group of young adults having fun on the cobblestoned streets–what could be more lovely or wholesome? This scene is beautifully portrayed by late 19th/early 20th century artist John Sloan in today’s image. I really love this painting–the lighted trains against the purpling sky as the sun is almost set. But something sticks in my craw–something about this painting doesn’t feel quite right. What is it?

When I spent a minute gazing at the painting to ascertain what was feeling off to me, it came down to a matter of intuition about physics, of all things. Physics has never been my strong suit, but my gut says that the elevated subway trains couldn’t make that sharp a turn without coming off the tracks. Typical NY subway cars are 60-80 feet long (they vary among the different subway lines). The curve at what is essentially a right angle turn doesn’t look long enough for the train to make it. Does anyone else have the same reaction?

Sixth Avenue Elevated at 3rd Street (Oil painting, 1928) by John Sloan

Tags: ,

Leave a comment